Welcome to the Nurse’s Page!
Hi! I’m Kris Borrelli, RN Mercy’s school nurse with over 15 years of combined experience as a registered nurse and nurse practitioner serving at URMC, private practice, and public schools. I received my Master of Science degree in Nursing from the University of Rochester. If you have any questions about your daughter’s health issues or other concerns, please contact me at (585) 288-7120 x314 or firstname.lastname@example.org.
As part of our See Something, Say Something initiative, Mercy is adopting a Safe School Helpline to report health and safety concerns, threats of violence, and illegal activity that could harm students.
The number, 1-800-4-1-VOICE x359, is monitored 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Reports may also be made by texting the word “tips” to 614-426-0240 or online at www.safeschoolhelpline.com.
Click each tab to find important documents and forms for students and parents.
NYS requires current physical exams (health appraisals) to be on file for all new OLM students, students entering grades 7, 9 and 11, and when conducting an initial evaluation/reevaluation of a student with a known or suspected disability. Current physicals for the 2021-2022 school year need to be dated on or after September 1, 2020. Mercy is able to accept electronic forms generated by pediatricians as long as they have the information required by NYS found on the NYS Health Appraisal Form – Updated 2020
In addition, physical exams for sports participation must be within the 12 months prior to the month of the start of the sport season. For example, if Fall sports start August 20, 2004, the physical must be on or after August 1, 2003.
For working papers, physical exams must be within 12 months to the day of the application. For example, if you apply for a work permit on August 20, 2004, your physical must be on or after August 20, 2003.
Students that do not have the vaccinations required by New York State Law Section 2164 will not be eligible to attend school. In addition to earlier required vaccines, students in grades 6 – 12 need the following:
- Students 11 years and older entering 6th grade need to have a tetanus booster (Tdap).
- Students entering 7th grade must have one meningitis vaccination.
- Students entering 12th grade must have a total of two doses of the meningitis vaccine.
Mercy is encouraging students 12 years and over to be vaccinated against COVID-19, but it is not a requirement at this time. Side-effects from the COVID-19 vaccine are very common. Please see the COVID-19 Post-Vaccination Guidelines for Schools from the Monroe County Department of Public Health to you help determine which symptoms are expected, and to help determine when your daughter can return to school.
NOTE! Only medical exemptions from immunizations are accepted by Mercy as mandated by New York State Law. Frequently Asked Questions About Legislation Removing Non-Medical Exemptions from School Vaccination Requirements
Please see the links below for additional information:
All students wishing to play sports at Mercy must first be cleared by the school nurse. To participate, all students must turn in the following for EACH SEASON:
- Parents must complete the Parent Permission and Recertification form (2 pages), signed within 30 days of the start of the season (for example, if the season starts August 31, the form must not be completed before August 1). To avoid delays, please fill it out completely with as much detail as possible for the health history questions.
- A current physical exam form must be on file in the nurse’s office. A physical is considered current if it is within the 12 months prior to the month of the start of the sport season. For example, if Fall Sports start August 20, 2004, the physical must be on or after August 1, 2003.
- Evidence of a current tetanus shot (within 10 years).
Please see the Athletics page for more details and due dates. Students that turn in their forms late may not be able to be cleared in time for tryouts. Forms may be handed in by the student to the health office or main office, emailed to the school nurse, faxed or mailed.
School nurses, by state law, may dispense medication to students with proper authorization from parents and their health care provider. Please use the Medication Permission Form found on the website. If medication is to be given to a student during school hours, the following requirements must be met:
- A written request must be sent by a physician/NP/PA indicating the frequency and dosage of the prescribed medication.
- A written request to administer the medication as specified by a physician/NP/PA must be submitted by the student’s parent.
- All medication must be brought in and picked up at the end of the school year by an adult. Any medication not picked up will be discarded on the last day of school.
- The school nurse will keep the medication in locked storage.
- The authorization must be updated at the start of the school year or when the dosage changes.
- Any non-prescription medications (not provided as stock by the health office) must be in new and un-opened bottles/packaging.
- All prescriptions must be in the original bottle and must have a picture of the student attached to them. Please ask your pharmacist for an extra empty bottle with current student and medication information to be used at school if needed.
Students may carry and self-administer certain emergency medications (such as inhalers and Epi-pens) with written permission from their health care provider. A permission for independent use and carry of medication form can be found on the nurse’s webpage, as well as on the Medication Permission Form. Either form is acceptable. These must also be updated each school year.
If your daughter has been diagnosed with a condition that requires emergency medications and/or special care (i.e., allergy requiring use of epi-pen, seizures, diabetes), please make sure an up-to-date care plan is sent in by your daughter’s pediatrician or specialist. These need to be updated each school year.
All students need to complete the Self-Assessment Screening for Returning to Play After COVID-19 form before returning to PE class. Please return the completed form to the Health Office.
When should children and adolescents return to play/exercise?
- Completed isolation and minimum amount of symptom free time has passed
- Can perform all activities of daily living
- No concerning signs/symptoms
- Physician clearance has been given, if indicated
All students with moderate to severe symptoms* are required to have an in-person evaluation with their primary care physician after symptom resolution and completion of isolation before beginning any physical activity (PE or sports).
Youth 12 years and older participating in high intensity exercise/competitive sports only (NOT gym/physical education/recess) this includes current Mercy sports and Mercy Dance classes, must complete a gradual return to play.
At what pace should youth 12 years and older in high intensity exercise/competitive sports return to play?
- Asymptomatic / Mild symptoms* AND a negative Self-Assessment screen: Minimum 1 day symptom free (excluding loss of taste / smell), 2 days of increase in physical activity (i.e. one light practice, one normal practice), no games before day 3. A mask is required for ALL physical activity, including games or scrimmages, until 10 full days from positive test or symptom onset have passed.
- If Self-Assessment screen is positive, do not resume activity until your daughter has had an in-person evaluation with her primary care provider.
When should children and adolescents pause return to play?
- If student develops any chest pain, shortness of breath out of proportion to upper respiratory infection, new-onset palpitations, or syncope when returning to exercise, immediately stop and go to PCP for in-person exam and consider referral to Pediatric Cardiology
*Severity of Symptoms:
- Mild Symptoms:
- <4 days of fever > 100.4; <1 week of myalgia, chills, or lethargy
- Moderate Symptoms:
- ≥4 days of fever >100.4° ≥1 week of myalgia, chills, or lethargy, or a non-ICU hospital stay and no evidence of multisystem inflammatory syndrome in children (MIS-C).
- Severe Symptoms:
- ICU stay and/or intubation, or MIS-C
COVID-19 Vaccine Side-Effects
Side-effects from the COVID-19 vaccine are very common. Please see the COVID-19 Post-Vaccination Guidelines for Schools from the New York State Department of Public Health to you help determine which symptoms are expected, and to help determine when your daughter can return to school.
Monroe County Department of Public Health Return to School Flow Charts:
- Student/teacher/staff with potential COVID-19 symptoms
- Quarantine order protocol for unvaccinated or not yet boosted K-12 student/teacher/staff
- Quarantine order protocol for fully vaccinated or not yet booster eligible K-12 student/teacher/staff
Other COVID-19 information:
Daily Health Screening